Skip to content

A Little Help from My Friends

December 14, 2009

Starting a non profit requires the helping hands of many from the local community

by Elana Ford

I am quickly learning the many ways that starting non-profit differs from working at an established corporation.  In my new world, where things I used to take for granted like printer paper and long distance phone service are now issues of strategic importance, it has never been more clear that the Beatles had it right when they sang “I get by with a little help from my friends.”  I have been overwhelmed with the support I have gotten from my friends both old and new.  I am especially grateful to our mentors as well as my core team of volunteer “employees” without whom none of our successes so far would have happened.  I would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the members of this Core Team who are working hard behind the scenes to help Starting Blocks achieve its mission.

Recent law school grad Nathanael Player is collaborating with me on Development as well as overall strategic planning for the organization. Public relations pro, Allie Nichols, who is also one of our mentors, is helping with our marketing/communications program, as is non-profit communications consultant, Aubrie Campbell.  Providing support from Steamboat Springs, Colorado on IT projects (including the production of this newsletter) is my good friend Florence Oliver.  Our frequent Skype sessions have allowed me to integrate technology solutions into the business from early on. Our team also includes, Josh Kahn, a genetics research analyst, who is providing research support in preparation for our first round of grant writing.  Last but not least, the continuous support of my husband Chris has been essential to my daily success, and my sanity!

I am also pleased to announce new team members Annabelle Hall who will be focused on Curriculum Design, and Mollie McWilliams who will be working with Allie and Aubrie in Marketing and PR. Finally, Arianna Trujillo-Robnett will be helping the grant writing team.

Starting Blocks is supported by an Educators Support Network,  a group of professionals who work in a variety of fields within the education industry: teaching, counseling, administration, academia, and more.   I am also recruiting a formal Advisory Board that will meet regularly starting next year.  Please click here to learn more about our ESN and Advisory Board.

Getting inspired?  If you are interested in volunteering with Starting Blocks, there are a number of ways you can get involved in the program, including opportunities for both remote and local volunteers.  Please click here to learn about the many ways that you can help!

Comments are closed.

